«

»

Print this Post

America Saves Week ~ Online Challenge

America Saves Week ~ Online Challenge

Challenge picAmerica Saves Week 2015 ~ February 23 – February 28

America Saves Week is coordinated by America Saves and the American Savings Education Council. Started in 2007, the Week is an annual opportunity for organizations to promote good savings behavior and for individuals to assess their own savings status. Typically, thousands of organizations participate in the Week, reaching millions of people. This campaign encourages individuals and families to save money and build personal wealth.

The 2014 Annual National Survey Assessing Household Savings (released during America Saves Week) revealed that while most Americans are meeting immediate financial needs, they are worse off than several years ago.

  • Only about one-third of Americans feel prepared for their long-term financial future.
  • 68 percent reported they are spending less than their income and saving the difference – down from 73 percent in 2010.
  • Nearly two-thirds of respondents (64%) said they “have sufficient emergency savings to pay for unexpected expenses like car repairs or a doctor visit” – down from 71 percent in 2010.
  • 76 percent said they are reducing their consumer debt or are consumer debt-free – down from 79 percent in 2010.

To learn more about America Saves Week and Pledge to Save, visit: www.AmericaSavesWeek.org 

Set a Goal. Make a Plan. Save Automatically.

Get Involved! Events during America Saves Week include:

Ag Save$ Summit

February 23 – 9:00am CST/10:00am EST
Jackson County Extension Office, 2741 Pennsylvania Avenue, Marianna, FL 32448
(view registration link for additional locations)
FREE to register: bit.ly/AgSavesSummit

America Saves Financial Challenge – Online

February 22 – March 23
FREE to enroll: http://bit.ly/MoneyChallenge2015

Challenge Yourself to Save Money – America Saves Challenge Twitter Chat (#eXASchat)

February 24 – 2:00pm CST/3:00pm EST
Log in to Tchat.io at http://www.tchat.io/ and insert #eXASchat into the textbox that pops up so you can tweet easily and view the live Twitter stream

Where to Turn for Financial Advice – Webinar

February 25 – 11:00am CST/12:00pm EST
Free Registration: http://bit.ly/finpro2015

Personal Finance Questions – Realities & Myths – Webinar

February 26 – 11:00am CST/12:00pm EST
Free Registration: http://bit.ly/faq2015

PG

Author: Ricki McWilliams – rickim@ufl.edu

Ricki McWilliams is the Family & Consumer Sciences Agent in Walton County, Florida.

Ricki McWilliams

Permanent link to this article: http://okaloosa.ifas.ufl.edu/newsletters/2015/01/28/america-saves-week-online-challenge/